I love vacations; however …

I was put recently in the unenviable position of having to take a vacation. *gasp* I know what you are thinking, “Bryan the Writer, who really thinks vacations are bad?” Well, as much as I like seeing new things, I am really more of a home body. Leaving the confines of all I know and love can be traumatic for me.

That being said, I wanted to let you all know why you have heard so little of me lately, I’ve been out and about cruising the world. Well … maybe not all of the world.

1st stop, Indiana. I know, you are likely unimpressed with the state of Indiana, but if you are me it is a salve to my wounds. We go to a place where literally time stopped in like the 70s. I jokingly say it is God’s Midwestern waiting room and the median age is like 473 years old. Nothing happens or even changes. I love it. While we were there we caught up with family, swam, watched grass grow, complained about mosquitoes. It was awesome!

20170725_190941.jpg
Chillaxin’ in my favorite part of Indiana

Likely, it is one of the only places on this planet I can go and truly feel like I am rested afterward. There is nothing to do, no expectation there will be anything to do, and a complete lack of desire to do anything. I need that. As a highly sensitive person (HSP), I need time to let my emotional armor hang on a hook for a while and maybe rebuild the damaged pieces for what comes next.

I proudly say I am half Hoosier. I spent about half of my childhood there.

If Indiana is the place to send in my emotional suit of armor for repairs, the next stop on my vacation is essentially the reason it needs occasional repairing.

New York City is the wrong place to be if you are a HSP. It is a bundle of nerves, wrapped up in irritation, surrounded in a thick coat of grumpiness and wrapped up in too many people! It is energy, constant and unending. While some people find it invigorating, an HSP can easily be overwhelmed by it. Try taking on the emotions of all of NYC for 12 hours a day. Yeah, I actually yelled at someone the other day. I never do that. I was past my proverbial edge. However, it is not as bad as it may sound. The people around me were also irritated at this jack-ass. They just weren’t fed up enough to yell at him.

20170806_103630
NYC Time Square

I really enjoyed seeing Central Park. It is beautiful! We stopped to chill out on a couple of park benches throughout the day and just watch New York wander by us. We stopped by a castle in the park which is now part of the National Weather Service. You can tour the castle. It is kind of neat to see.

We toured Ellis Island’s abandoned hospital, the Statue of Liberty, walked across the Brooklyn Bridge, and had some amazing Irish food in this off the wall place we found. And that was on the first day!

My daughter wanted to see “Trump Tower” so, while on 5th Avenue, we made our way to the building. I posted this on my personal Facebook account but I want to reiterate, it’s kind of a hidden jem. First off, the building interior is gorgeous. Downstairs, they have a great café with reasonable prices. REASONABLE PRICES IN NEW YORK! You can also buy sandwiches and burgers, which looked really good. It wasn’t mealtime for us, so we didn’t eat. In NYC, it is almost impossible to find anything reasonably priced to eat, but Trump Tower actually has them. Take the escalator down. Most people don’t do that, they just head inside, snap a photo, and then leave.

20170805_145102
My two favorite ladies!

There are the traditional things to do in NYC, like catch a show, etc. However, if you really just want to wander around a bit, there are tons of things to see and do.

I literally was forced to take a vacation … no lie. I had too many vacation hours at my full-time job and I needed to burn a ton. There is a sick part of me that is excited to get back to my work schedule which is highly regimented; albeit self-imposed regimentation. There is comfort in a schedule. However, I have to say, this is been interesting. And, as a fellow writer pointed out, you need to take these little trips occasionally to fuel your imagination.

My point to this blog is simple, get out and see NYC. Lots of cool things to see. Yes, I can’t wait to get home but it has been a pretty great trip overall. As for visiting my secluded corner of Indiana? No … stay away. It’s mine.

-Your Humble Servant

Logo_black_transparent

One thought on “I love vacations; however …

Leave a Reply

