Decisions can be hard to make

It’s funny how things can change at the drop of a hat. I’m reminded of some advice I got while I was taking a sailing class in Germany. You can be cruising along happily when a sudden gust of wind hits the sails and sends you over the side. The important thing is that you have to get the hull righted again.

This actually happened to me. I wasn’t on the helm when it happened, but a gust of wind hit our little craft and the sail was suddenly in the water and our starboard side was in the lake, filling with water. To put this in perspective, I was standing on the starboard (or right side) of the boat and holding onto the port (or left side) of the boat. Trying to push the port side back down. It sounds terrifying. For the person at the helm it was and she was so shaken that she gave up the helm and refused to take it again for the rest of the class. I was laughing because it was a beautiful day outside and none of us were ever really in danger. I could have swum to shore from there and probably back to the boat if I needed to. In short, no one was injured and we easily pulled out of it.

I’ll say this, it was terrifying and exhilarating all at the same time.

wannsee
Relaxing on the Water

Life can be that way. You’re cruising along, content in the knowledge you know how everything is going to play out, sure of your course, comfortable in how you read the wind. Suddenly something happens, good or bad, that you have to react to and make a decision. It is never easy making a decision, but ultimately have to. What can make these decisions scarier is that there is no life-vest in life. You could sink or swim based on your decision. Writing can be like that some times.

I made the decision to hold off self-publishing my next book. There are a couple of different reasons for this, but I think it’s the right decision at this time and ultimately, when it is released, it’ll be a step up from my previous work.

While I’m not going to give you any details right now, I’ll say that this decision is for all of the right reasons and I’m hopeful it will vault me to a new level of writing. I don’t know where this next adventure will lead me. But, I know one thing, it’s an interesting new twist in the story that is Bryan the Writer. I’ll update you when I know more.

In the meantime, I’m going to keep working on a couple of other ‘works in progress’ and maybe a few short stories to submit as the opportunities arise.

Your Humble Servant,

Logo_black_transparent

Leave a Reply

