“Gutted” is on my “Top Ten” books to read!

Gutted: Beautiful Horror StoriesGutted: Beautiful Horror Stories by Doug Murano

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I am a firm believer in the usefulness of horror. People who equate horror with gore completely miss the point. Horror can be gory, but it can be funny, intellectual, attractive, and it can communicate the depths of love that even a love story cannot truly reach. It is the depths of love where you’ll find the treasure that is, Gutted.

Gutted is a horror anthology of many different authors and edited by Doug Murano and D. Alexander Ward. My personal favorite stories were “The Morning After was Filled with Bone”, by Stephanie M. Wytovich and “Picking Splinters from a Sex Slave”, by Brian Kirk. Both stories are horror stories in their own right, but also plunge the depths of love to an extend that I can’t even begin to describe.

What makes Gutted work is how the stories reach out and touch the reader. They don’t ask you to excuse the content of the message, just read and take it in. That’s why these stories touched me. They laid out before me, naked to the world and just let me read them without pretense. I got the chance to just accept the messages for what they are.

I normally like to try and write longer reviews, but I have nothing else to say besides, well done! Recently I was asked to list out my 13 top horror books of all time. Gutted made my list. Not because of the usual reasons, but because it really does take horror and turn it on its head. It proves that horror is at its best when it reflects a deeper meaning.

-Bryan the Writer

cropped-logo_red_transparent.png

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

