I’m Proud to be an American … and You Should be too!

Proud to be an American!  Happy Independence Day everyone. I’m happy that as I sit here composing this I’m free to say what I want. And, I think I will …

Presently the U.S. is undergoing what likely seems to other nations as a bit of a sudden lapse of judgement. If we were a loved one, you would probably take the whole country in for a psych eval, wondering if we were suffering from schizophrenia. The fact of the matter is that we, as Americans, can’t really explain our present behavior and hope you all will just bear with us while we work some things out.

Flag_of_the_United_States.svg

As most Americans I’m pretty much in the middle on a lot of things.

  • I’m a gun owner who isn’t against rational laws keeping weapons out if people’s hands who don’t deserve that right as guaranteed by our constitution.
  • I tend to think that people deserve a decent chance at a suitable life. It isn’t a right or something you get for free, you have to earn it; no matter the color of your skin or place your ancestors came from.
  • I’m against the whole sale exclusion of one group of people from the U.S. But I am also against just letting anyone in because they say they want to be here. And no, my ancestors didn’t just show up her. They filed the appropriate paperwork and got their asses to work when they came here. I expect others to do the same. You need to prove you do not have ill intent and you have some sort of plan to learn passable English and find a job. Again, we expect you to earn your keep.
  • If you are running from oppression, that is fine. We’ll take you, but you better be ready to work and learn English or you should be sent back. Sorry, but the no one owes anyone else a living. You’re not special.

Statistically, I’m not alone. As a matter of fact, I’m pretty close to the majority of the Americans living in the country today in my beliefs. These are pretty broad categories, I know. Relax my liberal friends, I still love ya … I just don’t agree with you. We all want the same thing, a productive America. We just differ on how we think we should get there.

Right now we seem to be tearing our selves apart over this Presidential Election. The problem, as I see it, is that we have completely ignored our inalienable right to be Americans. I’m no where near a Democrat, as a matter of fact I self-identify as a Libertarian, but trend towards moderate conservative. But I do have things that are considered liberal. For example, I am not against healthcare for those who need it, but I think having the Federal Government do it is idiotic. Please ask soldiers how much they love Tri-Care (Federally provided healthcare) or the VA who is supposed to be taking care of the vets. Then you might get an idea of why I think it is such a bad idea. In both cases it they are a mess.

American Flag

Things look kind of bleak right now. However, there is hope. Not in Washington, those ass-hats seem to have made such a mess of things that no one has any idea what they’re doing anymore. Nope, getting back to the business of being Americans starts at home. Recently I saw some great photos of a 4th of July parade in my former home town of Excelsior, Minnesota. It was great. I used to march in that same parade. The kids were lining the streets, waving flags, and celebrating the day. I suspect more than a few of those kids were there to get candy being thrown to them by people in the parade.  I wonder how many of those parents had a long chat with their kids about what it means to be American?

This July 4th, as you fire up the grill I want to charge you with an idea. Spend some time thinking about what it means to be American. Are we going to be content to let politicians continue to muck things up for us or are we going to take back what is ours? I say hell yes we should take it back! When it comes time to attend community meetings, or cast your vote, get out and do it. For a representative democracy, we have a horrible voter turn out rate. People are angry in the streets who have no right to be angry because they can’t be bothered to cast their vote.

When you find yourself saying things like, “Someone should help those people.” You really should be saying, “How can I help those people?” Maybe, the reason our politicians have stopped looking like true Americans is because they are reflecting what they see in us. Maybe the problem is that we have stopped looking like Americans ourselves.

A final thought …

“IN CONGRESS, July 4, 1776.

The unanimous Declaration of the thirteen united States of America,

When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.–That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, –That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. Prudence, indeed, will dictate that Governments long established should not be changed for light and transient causes; and accordingly all experience hath shewn, that mankind are more disposed to suffer, while evils are sufferable, than to right themselves by abolishing the forms to which they are accustomed. But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same Object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute Despotism, it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new Guards for their future security.–Such has been the patient sufferance of these Colonies; and such is now the necessity which constrains them to alter their former Systems of Government …”

If you have no idea where this document came from, then I say shame on you!

http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/declaration_transcript.html

-Your Humble Servant, Bryan the Writer

 

 

Leave a Reply

