The Busy Life

Today was a busy day. We started the process of getting our stuff ready to move. This is no small move, it’s pretty monumental. Bryan the Writer, and family have spent the last three years in Germany. While it has been a tremendous experience in many ways, it’s safe to say the stress of it all is beginning to get to me.

This morning I took the first steps towards packing up the electronics we don’t regularly use. I went through my drawers and pulled out my sweatshirts I’m not likely to use anymore. I kept one on hand just in case, but the rest are going to go away with the movers.

The Dramatic Dead 2

Even if you have a moving company, there are tons of things to consider. We completely filled our two garbage cans and both of our paper recycling bins. This is unusual for a family who barely fills one of each in a typical week. Lots of things have been thrown away or recycled if possible. Again, a herculean effort.

On top of all of that, I am also feverishly editing my latest project. I want to get it ready for you good people as quickly as possible. It is called, Crimson Tassels, and I’m super excited about it. But, the move does mean you’ll be hearing less of me in the next thirty days until we get back to a new sense of normal. I already see my world beginning to fold up around me.

But there is something cathartic about it as well. Writing can be very much like moving sometimes. When you start out, it looks like a monumental task. I have two novels and a third under edit and I’m still overwhelmed when I look at the process. Some moments I feel like I’m on top of the world and the next I feel like I am overwhelmed. Just as you think your work will never see the light of day, something happens. The clouds clear, the sun comes out, the world suddenly brightens up.

So, this brings me to my main point, you guys are the best. In between my loyal fans and my friends in the various groups I belong to, I have good reasons to celebrate. Because of you and your support, I had a fantastic month. One reviewer said the following.

I just finished this book and still feel kind of icky, but satisfied at the same time. It’s one of thoooose books where you never doubt that good will win out in the end. Thank God, because if it wasn’t, it could be a bit traumatizing.

That was seriously one of the best compliments I’ve ever gotten. So, to you all, I say thanks. You really are the reason I write.

-Your Humble Servant, Bryan the Writer

Leave a Reply

