Book Review: Dark Winter, The Wicca Circle

Dark Winter: The Wicca Circle (Dark Winter, #1)Dark Winter: The Wicca Circle by John Hennessy

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I recently read Dark Winter: The Wicca Circle by John Hennessey. Anyone who knows me for any length of time knows I love character building. To me that is the most important aspect of any book. John Hennessey sort of threw me for a loop in this book because I really felt it was his world building which dominated the narrative. He is a master at it.

The woods are used as a frequent location for much of the action and in my head I can see the woods, feel the cold of winter, see the cliff at the end of the woods. I can see the two cabins in the woods. When the girls go into the antagonist’s house, I can see the house. It is really well done. There is a decrepit church and cemetery in the story which I could see in my mind’s eye. He took me on a journey of the senses that’s what any good author should do.

John is good at what I hope to be good at. He makes you feel creepy in parts of the story where you need to feel that way. When the main character is in the antagonist’s house and she feels the rats biting at her, it did creep me out considerably and delightfully. This is, in my humble opinion, what good writers should be able to do in horror. The reason we read such stories is because we want to feel uncomfortable!

Now, if there was one thing that I will deduct points on it was that I got a little lost in the narrative once or twice. It can be frustrating when you aren’t entirely sure where you are in the story line. But I never got so lost that I felt like giving up on the book. The end of the story is well worth the rides occasional bumps.

So, the million-dollar question. Will I read the second book in the series? Absolutely I will!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

