Haley, The Space Assassin

Hello everyone! Lately I have been having some fun with a little story line. I’ve not decided what to do with it. It isn’t Horror, but it is another genera I’m always fascinated with, SciFi. I’m especially fascinated where the two genres meet. It’s called Haley, Space Assassin. This is the introduction to her and how she gets recruited by the government. Please enjoy, it was just something I had some fun writing. I’ll post more on Haley as soon as I have a few extra minutes to work on the story line a bit. But, for now, enjoy the introduction.

-Your Humble Servant, Bryan the Writer

 

Haley, Space Assassin

Four Years Ago

Haley Meadows was sixteen years old. The Texas night was clear, and the temperatures warm. It had been the best day of her life. Her birthday party was a smash hit and would be talked about for weeks. The presents were opened, the cake was eaten, and the day was complete. Although it was three in the morning, she found herself sitting on the back deck of her house, in one of the lounge chairs, staring out at the stars, unable to sleep.

It wasn’t the first time. She often did that, watching, wondering, looking in amazement at the sheer enormity of it all. Her friends, whom she’d invited for a sleep over, were snoozing in the living room behind her. Haley wasn’t tired, she just wanted to drink it all in. She pulled the little lever on the lounge chair and laid back, content to let those far away stars sing her to sleep.

Just as her eyes began to feel heavy, something else heavy settled on her. It was a sound. At first deep and grumbling, but then it grew louder. It reminded her of her sister’s boyfriends car when he decided to play his music too loud. Suddenly a large disk swooped over their house, a partial ring of lights off of its back end. As it passed their house, it shook the trees and windows. Haley, suddenly fully awake, let out a little yelp, and turned to look at her friends who were all still fast asleep.

Putting on her shoes, she briefly thought about putting on something other than her nightgown, but she didn’t want to take the time. Running out of her house, she ran down the small foot path, leading in the direction the flying thing went. Their house was fairly remote and the only thing out here, aside from their ranch house, was the municipal ball fields.

Running as fast as her legs would carry her, it didn’t take long for her to catch up to a scene that would forever change her view of the world around her. Cresting the rise of a small hill, which overlooked the ball-fields, she saw what it was that shook the house. In front of her was a spaceship. She shook her head, and even pinched herself to prove she wasn’t really dreaming. But there it was, an honest to God spaceship. It appeared to be going through some sort of landing procedure.

Next to the craft, three men stood stoically next to a car, along the first base line. They remained passively watching as landing gear stretched out from the bottom of the craft. They looked like statues in the glow of this unbelievable craft.

You have got to be kidding yourself Haley, she thought. There was no way she was going to let herself be convinced she was seeing what she was seeing. As the pads touched the ground, little wisps of dirt flew up from the ground. Impossible to believe, but there it was.

She remained motionless, frozen, as she watched a small platform extend out from the craft and contact with the ground. Two men, looking very human, walked out with small rolling luggage, like you would take on a family vacation to your lake house or grandma’s for the weekend.

She stood, with her mouth agape. There was a huge part of her screaming, there is no way this could be happening, but there was another part screaming, you are witnessing something amazing.

“Hey, what are you doing here? You shouldn’t be here this time of the morning, young lady!” A man in a uniform said from behind her.

Haley whirled around to face the source of the voice. In front of her stood a man, in a uniform, he was wearing a green uniform and carried a holstered pistol. He had a black arm band that read, MILITARY POLICE. For a brief moment all she could think about was the fact that she was dressed in only her tennis shoes and nightgown.

“Oh crap, I was just, uhhh …” Her mind stuttered to come up with the right words to say … some excuse to give him. But in reality, she only had one question in her mind that seemed to suddenly hijack all of her thoughts. “To hell with it … what is that thing?”

“I think you’d better come with me,” the man said. He wasn’t really threatening her, but he made it clear that saying ‘no’ wasn’t really an option. He grabbed her by the arm and led her to a green military truck parked slightly downhill.

“Okay, I guess I’m going with you then,” she said as the man put her in the truck.

In a few minutes they were traveling down a dusty desert road towards the baseball fields. As they drove, she came up with a myriad of excuses as to what she was doing there. Undoubtedly, he was bringing her to some sort of military jail where she would be tortured and made to sign some sort of confession. Meanwhile, her parents would be told she had been sent to a special boarding school, and would be home when she was like thirty or some such nonsense.

As the man in the uniform parked the truck, he told her to stay put. He jumped out of the vehicle and walked over to another man, standing by a large black limousine. After a brief exchange the second man came over and opened the door.

“Come with me, little lady,” he said.

“Oh God, I am not seven. Don’t call me little lady.” She might never see her family again, she might even spend the rest of her life in prison for accidently seeing an alien spacecraft, but she sure as hell wasn’t going to be treated like a child.

Stepping out of the truck, she was suddenly overwhelmed by what she saw. The ship was real; she wasn’t imagining it. In front of her, resting on four pads extending from the bottom of the fuselage, was a baseball diamond sized space ship. It was enormous. The platform she saw earlier had already disappeared back into the ship.

“Come with me, please,” the man grabbed her by her arm. He wasn’t forcing her, but again, she got the impression the decision wasn’t hers to make. He took her over to the waiting limousine, parked about fifteen feet from where the platform had been earlier.

As she got one foot into the car, she turned her head just in time to suddenly see the space ship disappear from her view. “Holy Crap!” was all she could say.

“Holy crap indeed,” a male voice rang out from inside. Sliding into the seat, she looked across the compartment to see a man in a uniform sitting with his hands folded in his lap. To her, he looked like a younger Morgan Freeman. “I’m still amazed every time they do that. I suppose holy crap is as good an expression as anything else.”

“Before you do anything to me, I have to know something,” Haley said.

“Oh yea, what’s that?” He asked with a slight smile on his face.

“How does that thing not crash into the ground when it lands? I mean, Earth’s gravity should take something that large and smash it against the rocks and turn it into space ship soup. But it landed so …”

Elegantly, I believe is the word you are looking for.”

“Yes, elegantly. And then the whole platform thing came out of the bottom and those guys stepped out. It was crazy. And you guys, with your uniforms and guns. I mean, what’s next? Is Will Smith going to jump out and flash something in my eyes, and tell me to study math harder and wait to have sex until I am married or something?”

“Will is busy today, you get me.”

“So you are going to flash my eyes,” Haley was now talking a mile a minute. “I mean, crazy. I knew you people existed, I just knew it. It only makes sense, there is limitless space out there, and it sounds ridiculous if you say we are the only planet in all of this space that has people on it. Oh my God, just let me drink it in for a few more seconds. This is totally, like off the charts, amazing! I just can’t believe it. Aliens are real, and they look like us!”

“Well, those are human suits actually.” The man sat back in his chair with a smile on his face, seemingly amused by the girl’s reaction to everything she was seeing.

“Wait, they wear those? Holy crap, this gets better and better. Okay, you can flash me now. I’m ready, but holy crap! All of this on my Birthday!”

“We don’t really flash people. We could, but the testing of the technology was a little … embarrassing.”

Haley suddenly lowered her voice, sounding very serious. “Embarrassing, do you mean you killed someone during testing?”

“No, but our testers did cluck like chickens for a few weeks. Turns out messing with someone’s brain wiring is more difficult than you’d think. Happy Birthday, by the way.”

“Thank you, but if you’re not going to flashy-thingy me, then what are you going to do? I mean, this is kind of big to just tell me it is swamp gas or something.”

“Oh, we just kill you.”

There was an awkward moment of silence, and Haley looked like she was about to cry. Her face suddenly turned red, her eyes became big as saucers, and her mouth fell open.

“Oh my,” he said quickly, realizing his mistake. “I’m just kidding. Don’t worry we don’t kill anyone.”

Visibly relieved, Haley said, “You had me there for a second.” She still wasn’t completely sure he was kidding about killing her though. It seemed to make sense that if someone saw something they were never meant to see, then they needed to be silenced.

As if he could read the concerns still on her face he said, “Okay, I’m really sorry. I shouldn’t have told you we would kill you. I was kidding. Let me restart this process. I am Lieutenant General Profitt. And I assure you the only thing I am killing today is a brew-ski after I’m done talking to you.”

Haley still wasn’t completely convinced, but for the moment she thought it best to just play along. “Ok, fair enough, my name is Haley Meadows. And if you aren’t going to kill me, what are you going to do with me?”

“Well, it is pleasure to meet you Haley. And, to answer your question, that depends completely on you, Haley. Let me ask you this, what do you think you saw there, just now?”

“I think,” Haley began, “I watched the arrival of an alien spacecraft. Judging by the size I would guess it is a transport craft of some sort. Too big to be a fighter, if I learned anything from watching Starwars.”

“Bravo, young lady. I’m really glad I met you today. There are a ton of people out there that would never have gotten past, ‘I don’t know’. But you thought about what you saw, eliminated the possibilities, and you made an assessment. You took it one step further, and thought about the type of space craft. Very good! So, who do you think those men were that you saw walk off board?”

“That’s another thing,” Haley said. “Only three of them got off. A military craft likely would need more people. So, I’d have to guess they’re the crew for a galactic trucking company?”

“Again, you win extra style points. Well done, as it turns out, you are correct at every turn. That was no military vehicle, as you say. That’s a Tal-Severns transport craft. It’s built to be a mid-level freighter. Supposed to be in transit for no longer than a week.”

“And those people, the Tal-Sevens, they are our allies?”

“Tal-Severns,” he corrected, “and no, they are most certainly not our allies. As a matter of fact, they wanted to destroy Earth four years ago. But, as it turns out, they need a new transport hub. So, today is an olive branch. They were in trouble and they needed help. We offered and they reluctantly accepted.”

“So, you said it was up to me what happens next?”

“Yes, Haley,” the General leaned forward, “it most certainly is. You can, if you like, sign a simple piece of paper, and walk away from all of this. With the promise, of course, that you never tell a single soul what happened here today. Go back to your life. I’ll even give you a ride home. But there is another choice.

“You see, Haley, this is only half of my job, the other part is looking out for talent. I’m not interested in hiring people who are going to question everything they see and wonder if it’s real. We only take about thirty percent of people who apply to our program. The rest of our staff we find as we go along. People that react a certain way to the circumstances they’re put in. So, the second option is this. You sign the same piece of paper, promising you’ll never tell another soul what you see here, and will see in the near future, and you meet with our human resources department next week. Of course you would have to finish school, and there are some specialized courses we would have you take, but I think you’d be a good fit. I’m offering you a job.”

For a few seconds Haley was speechless. A few minutes ago she was convinced he was going to pull out a gun and shoot her, then probably hide her body in the middle of the desert. And now he’s offering her a job. Most girls her age were thrilled with babysitting and working part time at a fast food joint. But he was offering her a government job … working with aliens.

“I’ll … I’ll have to think about it,” Haley said.

“I would hope so. This isn’t just a job. You don’t just flip burgers and drop orders of fries. You’re going to be interacting with the galaxies most influential, and interesting creatures. Some, of whom, I can hardly believe are real. I’d hope you would at least sleep on it. Let’s have you sign this non-disclosure agreement, and I’ll take you home.”

A moment of panic gripped Haley. “But, what’ll I tell my parents?”

“Tell your parents only that you were offered an internship, through school, and you were thinking about it. I can fill them in when I meet with them, I just can’t hire you without your parent’s consent.” He handed her a card. It simply said, LTG Profitt, and had a phone number. “Make up your mind, and call that number either way. Give my assistant your name, and she’ll forward your call. And Haley, there is no harm in saying no.”

Fifteen minutes later, Haley was stepping out of the limousine in front of her house. She walked in and took off her shoes. For a few moments she was able to convince herself she had fallen asleep and dreamed the whole thing. Until the sharp edge of the business card dug into her hand. She sat down in the lounge chair on the deck and looked again at the stars. They seemed different. Suddenly they seemed a lot closer.

 

Leave a Reply

