I got nothin … seriously

Some days it seems like I can sit down and write a million words, and then a million more, and it all flows out of me effortlessly. Some days it seems like I can’t scrabble together one sentence. Today is seems to be the latter, rather than the former.

I’m not sure what it is causing these wild sweeps in creativity. All I know is that it’s pretty much the same for every writer on earth. But, dare I say, it’s the same for everyone on planet earth. There is an old joke that goes like this. “Every week I give 100% at work. 12% on Monday, 23% on Tuesday, 40% on Wednesday, 20% on Thursday, and 5% on Friday.” It is humorous, but I think there is some truth to this. No one gives 100% at work all of the time. And I think that is naturally true of all of us.

20150620_205329Sometimes I don’t even feel like writing. There are times when I would much rather play video games, read a book, play ice hockey, or anything else you want to throw in there. Other times I’m consumed by the desire to write the next great American Novel and I would gladly spend hours at the computer.

No matter what happens, I always write! I may only spend an hour a night writing during the weekdays, but if I’m in the zone, I write longer, sometimes hours longer. It really just depends on my mood.

Why do I tell you this? I want to encourage everyone who has ever wanted to do something hard, to try and keep at it. The old saying, “If it were easy, then everyone would do it,” applies to writing and about a million other things. If you have passion in your heart for something, follow your dreams.

I realize this is not the most earth shattering blog posting ever, but it is all I got today. Now, I am going off to edit some more. Have a great week everyone!

-Your Humble Servant, Bryan the Writer

 

Leave a Reply

